Daily Painting, “Quarry Hills,” contemporary landscape painting

contemporary landscape painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, "Quarry Hills," 10" x 10", acrylic

“Quarry Hills”   sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

Since I had a minute to take an extra photograph, I thought I’d show you my sketch for this painting.  I always sketch to determine how I’m going to compose the painting and get a feel for my subject.   It is done in black ink so I can get dark, medium and light values (the pen I used for this was a Faber-Castell Pitt pen which uses India Ink).  I don’t spend a lot of time on the sketch, this one took only a few minutes.

sketch for "Quarry Hills" by Carolee Clark

Sketch for "Quarry Hills" by Carolee Clark, ink

This is a submission for the Virtual Paint Out blog. Their area of concentration this month is New Zealand.

2 responses to “Daily Painting, “Quarry Hills,” contemporary landscape painting

  1. More and more I have been doing a pencil sketch as a value guide while painting.

    As always, I love the simplicity of your forms and the colors always get my attention.

Leave a Comment