Abstracted sailboat painting, “Coming About”

contemporary abstracted painting of sailboats by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, acrylic, 18″ x 24″ x 1.5″

“Coming About”
by Carolee Clark
18″ x 24″ x 1.5″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

Since I retired, I have not been showing and selling my work.  In fact, I have been painting very little.  Thus I am not interested in purchasing more canvas that I would need to store so I painted this commission over top of another painting.  The woman is a lovely lady whom I genuinely admire and she had no problem with me using an existing painting.  After all, do you know any of the old masters who didn’t paint over their work?  I am following in their footsteps.

Did I like the first painting?  Absolutely!  But I needed a canvas that size.

Do you want to see the under-painting?  I created a video of a few of the steps.  You can see it on my Instagram page by clicking here.

6 responses to “Abstracted sailboat painting, “Coming About”

  1. This is great, Carolee… The sailing boat with the couple I bought from you is still my best!

  2. I like your paintings Carolee.S Clark . That is a good work of art.

Leave a Comment