Contemporary landscape painting “Finley Pond”

contemporary landscape painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “Finley Pond,” acrylic, 24″ x 30″ x 1.5″

“Finley Pond”
by Carolee Clark
24″ x 30″ x 1.5″
acrylic on wrapped canvas
$1260 (plus $75 shipping with the US)

Click here for larger image.

Last month, I did a commission for a collector who wanted a painting similar to one I had done previously. He requested a few alterations to the original and a smaller size. I was happy to give it a go. I liked his finished painting so much that I altered the original.

I had received feedback about the trees looking scary and dead (okay winter does remove the leaves) but they all had a point. I don’t want to paint dead and scary … I’m all about happy!

I wish I knew who first said that a painting isn’t finished until it is sold.  That is so totally true.  If you know, please leave a comment!

Below is the original and the sketch.

contemporary landscape painting with water by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, acrylic, 24″ x 30″ x 1.5″

© Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark

10 responses to “Contemporary landscape painting “Finley Pond”

  1. It was da Vinci who said a painting is never finished. I believe the til it’s sold part was added later. Love your work.

  2. Actually, I liked the original painting better. I don’t think it looked scary at all. In my opinion, the branches of the trees created an attractive contrast to the undulating surfaces of the water and sky.

  3. Truly beautiful, unique work

  4. Thank you Mary. I look around right now and there are many trees with scraggly branches like that, but I also agree with Patrick that the foliage makes it more uplifting! Thank you for the comments!!

  5. Looks more complete with the fall/winter leaves on the trees, a little more your style, uplifting/ pleasurable to look at. Glad you touched it up!

  6. wow commissions carolee!! how yummy that helps pay the taxes neh!!

    loving aloha s from big island…so privileged we and c b and tads had such fun in okanogan.

    need to see you more on next time you re home 0;)

    aloha s and keep the lovely art coming owe re hoping for a sunflower to buy for kona and ship before april we do paypal!!

    A L O H A S

  7. Mary Sheehan Winn

    I love them all – such beautiful color and shape. I am from New England so the winter trees are beautiful to me, Your work is wonderful! Mary

    My Daily Painting blog http://marysheehanwinn.blogspot.com/ Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Comment

