Contemporary painting of a chicken “Big Blue”

contemporary painting of a chicken by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “Big Blue,” acrylic, 10″ x 10″

“Big Blue”  sold_dot  sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″ x 3/4″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

It is amazing how many paintings one can get from one site visit!  This is the fourth painting from the Boston Mill/Thompson Mill park I visited in late June of this year.  Although several of the landscapes were started on site, not surprisingly these chickens moved too quickly for me to paint them. I took some photographs and worked from those.

I was sitting on a low stool and this chicken came right up to me.  Even though I could have reached down and touch it I didn’t want to alarm the bird and have it turn on me!

4 responses to “Contemporary painting of a chicken “Big Blue”

  1. Chickens are cool! I had a pet chicken when I was a kid (no joke)! Anyway you have captures their perky personality, and they can be intimidating if provoked.

  2. Carolee, you are amazingly talented! Love your painting of the farmyard bird! Enjoyed meeting you at your opening at Jason’s gallery. He is such a help to artists and I’ve been fortunate to be mentored by him. Am working now for gallery representation. Continued success to you with your beautiful paintings! Love, Marilu http://www.marilunorden.com

Leave a Comment

