Daily Painting, “Making Honey,” expressionistic painting of a honey bee

painting of a honey bee by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “Making Honey,” 10″ x 10″, acrylic

“Making Honey”    sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

A few years ago a wasp landed on my window when the weather was turning cold and I took a photo and painted him.  The final work was a bit scary so painted over the image.  However when KT Montgomery challenged us in the DPW Challenge to paint an insect I rushed out into my yard in search of bugs.  I found a ton of bees around the flowering shrubs in my yard.   I snapped a lot of photos before I remembered to put on the macro function.  Below is the photo  from which I painted (macro not used here).

bee

3 responses to “Daily Painting, “Making Honey,” expressionistic painting of a honey bee

  1. Hi Carolee, I’m also an artist and I’ve been admiring all the work on your blog and on dailypaintworks.com this morning. I was intrigued by how you’re able to be so interpretive with your work – this one’s a good example. How you are able to venture away from the reference photo in such imaginative ways? Do you always work with a photo reference and then interpret from there? Or do you paint out of your imagination sometimes?

    • Thanks Cheryl. I work from photos, life and my sketches. I always use the scene in front of me or the photo as a jumping off point. I admire people who work realistically, but that isn’t what makes my heart sing. If my painting is too realistic I am bored with it and keep fiddling until it leaps with color and interest (for me).

  2. This is beautiful.

Leave a Comment

