Daily Painting, “That WasTasty,” abstracted cat painting

abstract cat painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, "That Was Tasty," 10" x 10", acrylic

“That Was Tasty”     sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

Once again, Katie Johnson has given me inspiration to paint.  Her beautiful portrait of her Kitty Grimm is posted today for her “Saturday Silliness” post. 
Check the photo from which I worked by clicking here.  Her cat is a beautiful, graceful black cat which I did try at first to paint elegantly. Then my own Saturday Silliness took over and I changed the painting with a nod to my wild side.  It is definitely more me.  Sorry Katie!

Other news:
I have sent out my quarterly newsletter.  I talked about “Developing Style” and showed some of my work over the last 10 years.  If you would like to sign up for this infrequent newsletter, please do so below.

Subscribe to our newsletter

This is different than signing up to get my daily posts. You will get four newsletters a year with a variety of topics. 

If you want only this newsletter, just email me and I will forward it to you (without signing you up for future ones).

14 responses to “Daily Painting, “That WasTasty,” abstracted cat painting

  1. Shannon Hart Hudnell

    Awesome interpretation!!

  2. Beautiful painting of a great-looking cat (I’ve see photos of this cat on Katie’s blog). Great work, and I love the color. 🙂

  3. Hi! I’m here via KatiesCameraBlog of her cat you painted here. I paint abstracts too. I really like your painting and the color choices too! I think I can learn a lot from staring closely at your painting for a while. 🙂

    I’ve started thinking of WordPress as a virtual ‘artists cabaret’ — it’s awesome that we can all inspire each other this way. I’ve been working on a painting inspired by one of her photos too…

  4. I just sat and admired Katie’s photo – and just HAD to see your painting too. And I did not regret not THAT! So you just got a new follower – and one more admirer 😉 : I love this painting!

  5. Oh my gosh! I love your interpretation of her photo. Well done!

  6. Strong, eye-catching composition with a great feeling of life and energy.

  7. I love seeing my gorgeous British Shorthair Kitty here. He is black but his personality is as fun as your abstract, Carolee. So no need for an apology. 🙂 Once again, I am so honored that you are using a photo of mine for inspiration.

    Another great painting by you, Carolee! 🙂

Leave a Comment

