Daily Painting, “South Bay,” contemporary landscape painting

contemporary landscape painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “South Bay,” 10″ x 10″, acrylic

“South Bay”    sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

After painting some very complicated paintings, I needed a change of pace (with this painting and the last one).  Some would say I’m changing my style.  This is something I am thinking of writing about in my January newsletter so I would love to hear if you agree.  What are your thoughts on an artist’s style?  What about your own style?  Do you think this is just a bit of an experimentation ….

This is a submission for the Virtual Paint Out blog. Their area of concentration this month is Eureka, California.

3 responses to “Daily Painting, “South Bay,” contemporary landscape painting

  1. Carolee–I haven’t been to your site for a while and glad I did come to see what you were up to. This is definitely different from what I have seen from you– I like it. There is a calmness to this painting. My first thought was Geogia O’keeffe. The sky is wonderful like smoke coming from a burning cigarette… I don’t smoke anymore. It balances nicely with the harder edge foreground.
    Bill

  2. I love your style and I think even if you change your subject matter, your style will show through. If you have had steady sales with your current subjects and the more complex patterns, you may lose some of those buyers, but with the more simplified style you may gain others. I am especially drawn to the posts that also include your drawing plan. I notice that the finished painting changes a little from the original drawing. I personally love your high color and intricate designs.

  3. The sky is a little different from what you normally do but is in sync with what you do with your larger forms. The foreground colors are a little different but overall, the brush work looks like you-to my eye anyway and just my two cents.

    I think of changing styles as having a drastic note to it. Styles, preferences, whatever you call them are sort of fluid to my way of thinking but with something fundamental underlying them-sort of like your handwriting. My preferences have changed over time and I think this shows in my work. So, great topic and I am looking forward to your newsletter.

Leave a Comment

