Daily Painting, “Bow River,” contemporary landscape painting

contemporary landscape painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “Bow River,” 10″ x 10″, acrylic

“Bow River”    sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

Bow River runs through Banff, Alberta where I lived for three years.  Banff is a stunningly beautiful area and I was so lucky to be able to live, hike and enjoy the exquisite landscape.

When I first switched to acrylic from watercolor I used a lot of black to sketch in my image and built color up from there.  I still often sketch in my image with black paint.  In this painting, I enjoyed the old method of leaving more darks within the painting for dramatic value difference.

Below is a larger painting I did with this technique.  I covered up most of the black in this example.

contemporary tree painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, “Trees at Cummins Creek,” 28 x 22″, acrylic

4 responses to “Daily Painting, “Bow River,” contemporary landscape painting

  1. This one is lovely too.

    Incidentally, thanks for the explanation on the under drawing in black that you mentioned. I have been looking at your work for awhile now, trying to reverse engineer things, and the description of how you might start something is helpful.

  2. You must live in a beautiful town. 🙂 or you just paint very well. or both! lol

Leave a Comment

