Daily Painting – “Ben’s Truck” – contemporary urban scene

contemporary urban scene painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, "Ben's Truck," 10" x 10", acrylic

“Ben’s Truck” 
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

I started this painting on location last Wednesday.  I had sketched the scene and was starting to put paint on the canvas when I young man came up behind me.  He was wondering what I was painting.  When I showed him my sketch he said it was a nice drawing of his truck.  The truck is what had initially drawn me to the scene although in the painting I decided to take it off the page for a more interesting composition.  I think that he wanted his entire truck in the scene just as the sketch had been.  In my sketch I had an uneasy feeling about the truck pointing to the left as I wanted  to see where the truck was going to go.  I was thinking that I would start another painting flipping the truck around to face the building (where the viewer would know that it is parked and settled), but another bigger, newer truck came along and parked in front of it.  Ces’t la vie.

I don’t think that Ben will ever see this painting as I don’t know him.  I did ask him his name though, and  thus I got the title of this painting.

2 responses to “Daily Painting – “Ben’s Truck” – contemporary urban scene

  1. This painting flat out rocks! Good work.

Leave a Comment

