Daily Painting – “Orange Ave” – abstract, landscape

abstracted landscape painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark

“Orange Ave”    sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

I had a dream a few nights ago that my paintings were going to change.  I wasn’t sure how they were going to change and I still am not sure.  Even though I have no idea in what way my paintings will change or how rapidly, I undertook this year long “painting a day” challenge to see where it would take my painting. 

Those who have known me over the years know that I have painted with watercolor, pastel, used collage and finally acrylic.  I have explored the figure, portraiture, landscape, still life, non objective abstract and subject material abstracted.  Now an artist can use multiple types of subject matter and different media and still have his or her style be recognizable. 

A few years ago I had a local show at the hospital.  A woman came up to me and told me that she knew that it was my work without even looking at the name.  This was extraordinary to me as I had changed from watercolor to acrylic, and from landscape to non objective abstract!!  This happened overnight, yet she still knew it was mine.  Wow.

An artist cannot help that their work will change over the years.  Any retrospective of an artist will have a thread of recognizable style throughout their lives.

Change is inevitable and it’s always interesting (at least in painting).

4 responses to “Daily Painting – “Orange Ave” – abstract, landscape

  1. I think your work is gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your reflections!
    -Becky

  2. The painting is once again beautiful. I have so much to learn about composition, and I admire your ability to create harmony and balance. I can’t see one line or shape that breaks it.

    What you write gives me the chills – in a good way. A new beginning! How exciting for you, and for the rest of us!

Leave a Comment

