Daily Painting, “Upper Pepper Street,” contemporary urban scene

contemporary urban scene painting by Carolee Clark

© Carolee Clark, "Upper Pepper Street," 10" x 10", acrylic

“Upper Pepper Street”   sold
by Carolee Clark
10″ x 10″
acrylic on wrapped canvas

This is a submission for the Virtual Paint Out blog. Their area of concentration this month is Cape Town, South Africa.

4 responses to “Daily Painting, “Upper Pepper Street,” contemporary urban scene

  1. Ahhh … okay, I see what you are saying. I agree my shadow colours are darker but still fairly pure in hue. They seem to be shapes unto themselves which makes sense since I really am a shape painter. I try and make the shapes interesting rather than just a shadow of something else. It is less important to me that they are realistic and more important to be interesting. Thank you for clarifying … I like to try and understand what others are seeing. Thank you.

  2. For example, shadows seem to be darker but colorful at the same time, there seems to be a harmonious blending of shapes rather than any harsh contrast that could happen with the light.

  3. Thanks Toe, I like your comment and it means something to me. How do you think I define colour? I’d love to know more about what you think.

  4. I love the way you let colour define everything.

Leave a Reply

